MAMRT Annual Member Awards Program

The MAMRT Awards Program consists of Academic Awards for Students and Honorary Awards for MAMRT Members.

Academic Awards are coordinated through the educational institutions and consist of:

Registration Awards (4): One Award in each of the four disciplines for the highest Certification Examination Standing in Manitoba.

Essay Awards (2): Gold and Silver Awards in the Radiologic Technology and the Radiation Therapy disciplines.

Education Award (1): Award in the Radiologic Technology discipline for the highest cumulative GPA at Red River College.

Proficiency Awards (2): Awards in the Radiation Therapy and the Nuclear Medicine disciplines for clinical training professionalism and excellence.

Honorary Awards arise through Member Nomination. These Awards allow the MAMRT an opportunity to recognize, feature, and pay tribute to those of its members - both past and present - who have made significant contributions to the MAMRT Board, the MRT Profession and to the Student and at-large communities. Details of the four Honorary Awards appear below.

MAMRT Life Membership Award

MAMRT Life Membership may be conferred upon Full Practising or Non-Practising members, following nomination by a peer and election to Life Member status by the Board of Directors. Promotion to Life Membership is based upon the recognition of distinguished service to the profession and exemplary service to the Board of Directors.

MAMRT Life Members:

  • Butler, Desmond RT 
  • Eyer, Rita RTR, ACR, CAMRT Life Member 
  • Kirk, Elvera ACT, RTT 
  • MacKay, Cora RT
  • Strelioff, Paul RT
  • Walton, Richard RTR
  • Wharf, Richard RTR, ACR


  • Kubrakovich, Peter ACR, RTR
  • Macario, Stan RTR
  • Zeller, Chris ACT, RTT

The Colin Maxwell Memorial Award   
This Award was instituted as a memorial to Colin Maxwell, a very active member of both the MAMRT and the CAMRT, whose untimely passing in 1987, at age 51, was a great loss. The Award is presented to the individual who best exemplifies Mr. Maxwell's educational and professional characteristics. Criteria to be considered for this award are that the individual:

  • in good standing with the MAMRT
  • demonstrated emphasis of the importance of being a Medical Radiation Technologist and support for all four disciplines
  • service (past or present) to the MAMRT: Board of Directors, MAMRT Committees and regular attendance at Annual General Meetings
  • service (past or present) to the CAMRT: Board of Directors, CAMRT Committees and attendance at the national Annual General Meetings.
  • demonstrated dedication to the profession as a technologist, through concern for patients, support of students and encouragement to technologists.


  • 1988 David Brownlee RTR 
  • 1989 Elvera Kirk RTT, ACT
  • 1990 Tricia Hoare, RTNM 
  • 1991 Richard Wharf RTR, ACR
  • 1993 Rita Eyer RTR, ACR 
  • 1995 Chris Zeller RTT, ACT
  • 1996 Gina De Vos, RTNM 
  • 1997 Kristine Benedictson RTR, ACR
  • 1998 Peter Kubrakovich RTR, ACR
  • 1999 Margaret Stewart RTR, ACR 
  • 2000 Iris Williamson RTR, ACR
  • 2001 Lynn Couch RTR, ACR
  • 2002 Helena Twerdun RTR 
  • 2008 Judi Lidstone RTR, ACR
  • 2009 Debbie Wrublowsky RTR, ACR
  • 2010 Charlene Ferrier RTR, ACR, CTIC
  • 2011 Jerry Hlady RTR, ACR 
  • 2012 Monique Clarke RTR ACR 
  • 2013 Sandra Seidel RTR, RTMR, ACR 
  • 2014 Lorraine Gendre RTR, ACR
  • 2015 Jill Sutherland RTT
  • 2016 Dayna McTaggart RTR, CTIC

The Claude Bodle Memorial Lecture Award

This Award was instituted in 1991 to commemorate Claude Bodle, one of the founding members of our Association. Mr. Bodle helped to organize the CSRT, later to become the CAMRT and held the honour of being the only CSRT member to be president of both the Canadian and American Societies. This Lecture Award is open to current or former members of the MAMRT and has been established to recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to his/her profession. The recipient of this Lecture Award is invited to deliver an address to MAMRT members the following year.


  • 1992 Richard Wharf RTR, ACR
  • 1993 Elvera Kirk RTT, ACT
  • 1995 Richard Walton RTR 
  • 1996 Rita Eyer RTR, ACR
  • 1997 Sheila Boutcher RTNM 
  • 1998 Peter Kubrakovich RTR, ACR
  • 2000 Chris Zeller RTT, ACT
  • 2001 Cora MacKay RT
  • 2002 Gina De Vos RTNM 
  • 2003 Leona Nichol RTR 
  • 2004 Margaret Stewart RTR, ACR 
  • 2005 Stan Macario RTR 
  • 2008 Katherine Suderman RTT, ACT
  • 2010 Corrine LeBlanc RTR, RTMR 
  • 2012 Brenda Badiuk RTNM
  • 2013 Keith Sutherland RTT, ACT, CTIC
  • 2014 Stephanie Koval RTNM, CTIC
  • 2018 Susan Johnson, RTT

The Bill Doern Service Award
This Award was instituted at our 50th anniversary to honour Bill Doern, a founding member of the MSRT (now MAMRT). He was an honoured member both on a local level and national level in technical and administrative leadership. The Award is meant to recognize not only excellence in the field of radiation technology, but also a technologist's contribution to the community at large.


  • 1980 Desmond Butler RT 
  • 1981 Colin Maxwell RTR, ACR 
  • 1982 Cornelius Petkau RTR 
  • 1983 Beverly Glenday RTT 
  • 1984 Wilfred Allison RTR 
  • 1985 Fred J. Elcheshen RTR 
  • 1986 Richard Wharf RTR, ACR
  • 1987 George Dyck RTNM 
  • 1988 Rita Eyer RTR, ACR 
  • 1989 Jeffrey Dovyak RTNM 
  • 1991 Sheila Boutcher RTNM 
  • 1993 Shirley Gagnon RTR 
  • 1995 Cora MacKay RTR
  • 1996 Peter Kubrakovich RTR, ACR
  • 1997 Donna Davis RTR, CBI
  • 1998 Stan Macario RTR 
  • 1999 Jean Elcheshen RTR, ACR
  • 2002 Ken Olchowy RTR, ACR
  • 2008 Margaret Stewart RTR, ACR 
  • 2009 Debra Bridle RTT
  • 2010 Carolyn Berard RTR, ACR, CBI
  • 2011 Tamara Greenlay RTR 
  • 2012 Carmen Hepp RTR 
  • 2013 Christine Preachuk RTR 
  • 2014 Joyce Sorenson RTR, CTIC 
  • 2016 Tynnille Chomenchuk, RTT
  • 2018 Brian Holmes, RTT
Association Management Software powered by in1touch