Created by Medical Radiation Technologists (MRTs) for MRTs, the Manitoba Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (MAMRT) was incorporated in 1956, but had its beginnings in Manitoba long before - in 1929 -  when William (Bill) Doern (1902-2003) and Claude James Bodle (1886-1980) formed the very first association in Canada for those engaged in the then infant science of radiological technique.

The MAMRT is the professional voice of MRTs, a profession that now encompasses four distinct disciplines: Radiological (X-Ray) Technology, Nuclear Medicine Technology, MRI Technology and Radiation Therapy.

From a founding number of 28 members in 1929, MAMRT’s membership has grown to over 90 student members and to over 850 MRT professionals certified by CAMRT to practice in Manitoba.

As of January 1, 2021, the breakdown of Registered Technologists, by discipline/specialty was:
Radiological (X-Ray) Technology [RTR]: 574 Members
MRI Technology [RTMR]: 103 Members
Radiation Therapy [RTT]: 76 Members
Nuclear Medicine Technology [RTNM]: 47 Members